A woman in Houston, Texas, dropped off her 2-year-old son at a fire station but told authorities she didn’t plan on leaving him permanently.
The woman, whose name was not released, said she and her child were turned away from a shelter, KTRK reported. They had been living out of her vehicle, and had tried to get in touch with family in Cleveland. The woman, though, told police she didn't think the car could make the drive.
She returned to the station about an hour later and was met by police.
The woman is not facing charges and was taken to a Child Protective Services location near the fire station, KTRK reported.
The fire station, along with hospitals and emergency centers, serve as drop off locations for the Baby Moses Law in Texas.
Under the law, "If you have a newborn that you're unable to care for, you can bring your baby to the designated safe place with no questions asked. The Safe Haven Law, also known as the Baby Moses law, gives parents who are unable to care for their child a safe and legal choice to leave their infant with an employee at a designated safe place."
A baby, according to the law, is 60 days or younger.
© 2020 Cox Media Group