• Kris Letang named Norris Trophy finalist


    PITTSBURGH - Pittsburgh Penguins defenseman Kris Letang is one of three finalists for the Norris Trophy, awarded annually to the NHL’s top “defensive player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position.”

    Letang, Montreal’s P.K. Subban and Minnesota’s Ryan Suter are the three finalists, the National Hockey League announced Tuesday.

    Letang, who was nominated for the first time, finished tied for the scoring lead among defensemen this season despite missing 13 games because of injuries.

    Randy Carlyle is the only Penguins player to have ever won the Norris Trophy. He did so in 1981.

    The Norris Trophy is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association. The winner will be announced during the 2013 Stanley Cup Final in June.

    Next Up: