Here are the Pennsylvania lawmakers who opposed Biden’s electoral votes

How the Electoral College works

HARRISBURG, Pa. — Eight Republican members of Congress from Pennsylvania opposed the state’s electoral votes being cast early Thursday for President-elect Joe Biden.

Here are their names:

  • Rep. John Joyce (13th District)
  • Rep. Fred Keller (12th District)
  • Rep. Mike Kelly (16th District)
  • Rep. Dan Meuser (9th District)
  • Rep. Scott Perry (10th District)
  • Rep. Guy Reschenthaler (14th District)
  • Rep. Lloyd Smucker (11th District)
  • Rep. Glen Thompson (15th District)

In total, 80 Republican House members and one Senator, Missouri Republican Josh Hawley, filed a written objection to Pennsylvania’s certification of Biden’s victory. Those objections sparked a second round of discussion in both chambers.

The Senate quickly voted 927 against the objection without any debate.

After debate, which included a near fist fight on the House floor, representatives voted 282-138 against the objection.

An earlier objection to Arizona’s electoral votes also met the requirement to force House and Senate debates which were interrupted when rioters stormed into the U.S. Capitol and forced an evacuation. That objection was also later defeated in both chambers.

The Electoral College count - What you need to know