Newest WPIAL Hall of Fame inductees to be Class of ‘21 due to coronavirus pandemic

Darrelle Revis reacts before a game against the New England Patriots at Gillette Stadium on December 24, 2016 in Foxboro, Massachusetts. (Photo by Billie Weiss/Getty Images)

PITTSBURGH — Because of the coronavirus pandemic, the newest inductees into the WPIAL Hall of Fame will actually be honored as the Class of ‘21.

Eight athletes, two coaches and two teams are among the group of inductees, and will be inducted one year from now, in the spring of 2021. Aliquippa native and former NFL star Darrelle Revis leads the list of inductees. Before he was a star at Pitt or a four-time All-Pro cornerback in 11 NFL seasons that included a Super Bowl title, Revis was a multi-sport star at Aliquippa High School. In football, Revis was the Associated Press Pennsylvania AA “Player of the Year” as a senior. Revis also averaged 22.8 points in basketball and was a member of the 400-meter relay team that finished 1st in the WPIAL and 3rd in the PIAA.

You can customize your WPXI News App to receive alerts to sports news. CLICK HERE to find out how.

The other athletes in the new WPIAL HOF class are:

  • Natalie Bower Toman (Greater Latrobe HS, Cross Country/Track)
  • Michaela Kissel Eddins (Greater Latrobe HS, Tennis)
  • Rob Gagliani (Avella HS, Rifle)
  • James Gulibon (Derry Area HS, wrestling)
  • Ed Josefoski (Penn Hills HS, Volleyball)
  • Katie Miller Gee (Hempfield HS, Golf)
  • Samantha Pickens (Franklin Regional HS, Diving)

The 1980 North Hills HS softball team (WPIAL & PIAA Champions) and the 2004 Upper St. Clair HS Boys soccer team (WPIAL & PIAA Champions) will also be honored, as well as coaches, Gene Klein (Quaker Valley HS, Soccer), Joseph c. Maize (Peters Twp, Baseball), Heritage category inductee Joe Tranchini (Clairton HS, Football, Basketball, Baseball), and in the “Official” category, Tom Evans (Yough HS Baseball & Softball), and well as contributors, Amy Caprino (WPIAL Gymnastics) and David Hayes (WPIAL Board of Directors). Anthony Chiccitt of Bethel Park HS (Football, Basketball, Baseball) will be honored in the Courage category.