PITTSBURGH — Last July, the husband of Christine Lambert sat next to Gov. Tom Wolf as he signed Christine’s Law, requiring drivers in Pennsylvania to remove snow and ice from their cars, trucks or SUVs within 24 hours of a snowstorm. Sen. Lisa Boscola sponsored the legislation proposed in honor of a tragic accident almost 17 years ago.
“A family in the Lehigh Valley were, on Christmas Day 2005, traveling to Carbon County when this icy missile, I call it, dislodged from a tractor trailer, hit the windshield and immediately went through the entire windshield, hit Mrs. Lambert in the head, and she died instantly,” Boscola said. “The tractor trailer never stopped, and I have a feeling that he or she never knew.”
Other laws in Pennsylvania only punish a driver if and when another driver was hurt as a result of snow or ice hitting other cars. Christine’s Law prevents tragedies before they happen, with police officers now having the authority to pull you over if they see a danger to others.
“[It will] allow the police to have the discretion to pull you over if they feel you are a threat to the highway with snow and ice accumulating on your vehicle and tractor trailers,” Boscola said.
If you are in violation, you could be fined $50. If ice or snow is on your car and injures someone else, the fine could range from $200 to $1,500.
Download the FREE WPXI News app for breaking news alerts.
©2022 Cox Media Group